How can I trigger an action ?

Post here if you need help using Actiona
Post Reply
herrdeh
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2014, 11:35

How can I trigger an action ?

Post by herrdeh »

Hi,

I'm new to linux (ubuntu 12) and to actionaz. So maybe this is a stupid question:

How can I call an auctionaz script without launching the editor, so it runs "invisible" in the background ? -
I could then assign a system wide keyboard shortcut. A handy way to create and edit this shortcut would be nice.

Cheers,
herrdeh
User avatar
Jmgr
Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 15:45
Contact:

Re: How can I trigger an action ?

Post by Jmgr »

Hi,

You could use actexec, it can run any Actionaz script file (.ascr).
"My software never has bugs. It just develops random features."
herrdeh
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2014, 11:35

Re: How can I trigger an action ?

Post by herrdeh »

Hello, thank you for the hint.

It works nicely on the command line - but when I paste the command line into a keyboard shortcut under ubuntu 12, nothing happens. I tried any thinkable combinations of keys - nothing works.

Are there any further tricks?

Cheers,
Wolf
User avatar
Jmgr
Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: 07 Dec 2005, 15:45
Contact:

Re: How can I trigger an action ?

Post by Jmgr »

It works for me on Mint 15 with the following script:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<scriptfile>
    <settings program="actionaz" version="3.8.0" scriptVersion="1.1.0" os="GNU/Linux"/>
    <actions>
        <action name="ActionMessageBox" version="1.0.0"/>
    </actions>
    <parameters/>
    <resources/>
    <script pauseBefore="0" pauseAfter="0">
        <action name="ActionMessageBox">
            <exception id="0" action="0" line=""/>
            <exception id="1" action="0" line=""/>
            <exception id="2" action="1" line=""/>
            <parameter name="windowIcon">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0"></subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="message">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0">Test</subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="title">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0"></subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="textMode">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0">automatic</subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="ifYes">
                <subParameter name="line" code="0"></subParameter>
                <subParameter name="action" code="0">do_nothing</subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="customIcon">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0"></subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="icon">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0">none</subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="type">
                <subParameter name="value" code="0">ok</subParameter>
            </parameter>
            <parameter name="ifNo">
                <subParameter name="line" code="0"></subParameter>
                <subParameter name="action" code="0">do_nothing</subParameter>
            </parameter>
        </action>
    </script>
</scriptfile>
I have put the script directly into my home folder, and created a keyboard shortcut that calls "actexec myscript.ascr".

Does it work when you create a keyboard shortcut that does other things, like starting another program?
"My software never has bugs. It just develops random features."
Post Reply